The End of Poverty


(okay, well it’s actually the end of unemployment, since poverty is a relative term)

The primary focus of Singularity Ventures is to end unemployment worldwide.

You may be asking yourself, who am I to make such a statement? So, let me tell you…

I was born into a wealthy family, in West Vancouver (Canada), my father ran his own dental practice and my mother volunteered on pretty much every parent teacher association she could, until she died of cancer when I was 17. I struggled with this loss and began trying to lose myself by any means possible. Eventually, I realized that the remainder of my life was going to be a reflection of her, through my thoughts and actions. I had to change my life. I returned to high school to complete grade 12, since I did not have enough credits to apply for post secondary.

During my early twenties I followed the traditional academic path, which led me to studies in Philosophy, Anthropology and Criminology, at Capilano University, the University of British Columbia, and Simon Fraser University.

While studying at SFU I had the opportunity to begin a career as a Border Services Officer. For 8 long years I did my best to protect Canada from impending threats, including; terrorists, drug traffickers, and immigration fraud (I actually just stood in a booth most of the time).

What I’m trying to say is I’m just your average, everyday guy.

During my time as a border guard I began trading stocks as a way to make some extra money (my first investments were in gold, Tesla and Solar City). This grew to become my primary focus. Later, I was introduced to currency trading (forex), and within two years I decided to leave my job and pursue trading as a full-time career. While working as a border guard I was living in downtown Vancouver and couldn’t help but notice the number of people who were living on the street. I wondered why they couldn’t maintain a “normal job.”

After much reflection, I realized that I was the one who didn’t want to maintain a “normal job.” I realized that I could have just as easily been the one on the street, looking up at my green and white high rise overlooking Coal Harbour. What made me different from them? Nothing. I started to consider it was only circumstance that separates us from other people. Over the following months I became interested in discovering what these circumstances were. I decided to interview the “houseless” people in order to figure out what was really going on. I found out that many of these “street people” were faced with addiction, trauma, mental illness, and other disabilities.

At this time, it occurred to me that there must be something more to life than making money.

Having found my way out of this “normal life” I realized that there was a way for everyone to find this freedom for themselves – an opportunity to make their own way. I also realized it wasn’t just the houseless that didn’t want to, or were unable to, live this normal life.

Approximately 1 year ago today I had this crazy idea to develop an open workplace where anyone could just show up, complete a task and be compensated. The objective was to open a 24 hour workplace that would allow anyone and everyone to show up whenever they want and work as much or as little as they wanted.

Why did I think of this?

Because, I was trying to find a way to provide work for everyone in the world (obviously).

So, this seed was planted in my mind, and it’s been growing. Recently, with the help of my friends and some people I’ve met along the way, I’ve come to believe it will become a reality… soon.

How do I suggest we end unemployment?

By giving everyone access to the same tools I used to change my life and create a future full of endless possibilities.

We’re currently developing a prototype to do just that and can’t wait to share it with you.

 

Morgan Maryk

Founder/Singularity Ventures

One Comment Add yours

  1. Ehren says:

    This idea is relevent, a widely accessible ambient workplace with low barrier to entry, extendible as a stepping stone to other things. The implentation is still somewhat vague from a software perspective but one could Imagine an ecosystem of elearning tasks and game-like systems which provide a dual utility, one for the user in terms of reward and one for the client machine learning algorithms to be improved upon, or for market research or beta testing some application with usage metrics.

    Some possible tools related to machine learning that might be relevent to a project of this scope.
    https://www.tensorflow.org/
    http://torch.ch/
    http://opencv.org/

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

